Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Linlinlinux
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
ear
the 'architecture isnt supported' when trying to installl inux on external firewire harddrive. i dont want it on my main harddrive with windows xp, is tehre a way i could get around this?
Jay-Jay
Hiya, I'm a bit of newbie myself with linux / all things not Microsoft but . . .

The problem with putting it on a firewire HD is that to my knowledge (I might be wrong) but you need software to get it working . . . therefore you wouldn't be able to boot off it . . . i.e. it needs an OS to make it work. I guess it mite be possible to make a boot disc to make it work. But that'll probably be alot of hassle to get working and very limiting.

You could use somesort of partion creating programme to split up you HD with Win, but you said you didnt' really want to do that, and i'm not really qualified in how to make partions on HD's as my last attempt somehow corrupted my HD and I had to remove all partions and reformat the whole thing before I could use it again!!
blackphiber
now I might be wrong but I don't think you can install any OS on any external hard drive. Sorry.
andrewjenkins
You can run linux off of bizarre hardware, and linux kernel 2.4.20 supports "SBP-2" which it says is for firewire hard disks. I do not have one, so I cannot guarantee anything. I'm assuming you don't have much experience with linux, so this would probably be a distasteful introduction.

What I'd recommend is what I did for my second linux install (about 1999). I bought a second hard drive, about 10GB, and installed that and used it for linux. Pricewatch.com shows a 20GB EIDE internal hard drive for $35.