Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Triple Booting with Ubuntu
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
Clayman1000x
I asked this question at another forum but have got no answers so I am posting here also.
"I am currently dual booting XP Pro and Win7 Ultimate, all updated and running fine. I want to add Ubuntu 11.10 to the system, I'm fairly new to Linux but not a newbie. Now, I have done this before BUT, I installed Ubuntu inside either XP or 7 (don't quite remember which). When booting up I would get a bootup screen with about 4 to 6 options for booting into Ubuntu, 2 options for some type of repair and an option to boot into Windows, if I accept the last option (boot into windows), I get another boot screen asking for XP or Win 7, I would like this to be the same after I reinstall Ubuntu to it's own partition and this time I want to partition an area of my boot drive for Ubuntu. I currently run a 85g partition for XP (my main OS), a 45g partition for Win 7 and will add a new 40g partition on the storage partition, (currently 338gb) for Ubuntu and the rest is storage space, I have plenty of space for this. I am currently moving all the stuff in the storage part to another drive.

I hope I explained well what I am trying to do:

The real question is what do I need to be prepared for and what steps do I do if the boot screen doesn't give me what I need. I would like this to go smoothly and I already have Ubuntu 11.04 on my other pc and am getting used to the Unity interface, not as bad as what I have been reading IMO. I would love any suggestions someone might have.
The reason I am doing all this is because my Biostar 6100-M9 MB gave out on me and I replaced it with an Asus A8N-VM, 939 socket board so I lost my installs but nothing important, I never keep important stuff (thank god for live cd's and gparted) on my boot partitions, that is what my storage is for."