Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Hopefully SOMEONE can help me..
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
andrewblunt
hello everyone, i just signed up here and i think i'll be visiting quite often as i'm a linux newb entirely from the ground up...

now this is my problem, i downloaded the new slackware 12.1 and have installed it with the KDE...i've booted up and i'm at the desktop enviroment (KDE) without hassle, except i'm not connected to the internet with linux but previously was running xp pro and had no problems with the connection...

i'm sure there are a few reasons this is happening, but when i try to go into the Network Connections inside KDE, it tells me my platform isn't supported when i go to add a connection....

i'm not wireless on the machine with linux, in fact it's connected via PPoE, running through a router...it breaks down like this...

Modem -> Router
|
V
Linux Machine

Then i have the machine i am on right now which is running xp pro, however its connected to the router via wireless...this pc is not the issue as i am clearly getting online with it....it's the new linux machine that i cannot get online with at all...
PLEASE SOMEONE TELL ME U CAN HELLLLPPPPP......i'm using this for school and i NEED to be online with the linux machine at home to continue with my classes...please! someone help!!!
michaelk
Post your hardware information. If you do not know the type of network adapter post the output of the console command
lspci.

How are you trying to connect? With your setup if the adapter is being recognized all you need to do is configure it for DHCP.

Post the output of the command
/sbin/ifconfig eth0
andrewblunt