Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Please help...
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
yol
Hi, I am new to linux and i am trying to figure out a certain "how-to" - i have tried several distributions like Ubuntu, Fedora, Debian, DSL, Open SUSE, Mandrive and CentOS - i literaly installed each of them just to "feel" them.
to be honest - from the first installation i made, i was charmed. OK, just installing and using it under the GUI is completely straight forward however i want to do something that is a bit more complicated for my current knowledge - i do not need the GUI as i only want a specific program (Kino Video Editor) to load itself and using an onscreen keyboard and touch screen to operate the program untill i exit and power-off.
for now i know it is something to be done through the command line so i have started to learn some basic command line functions and came to know the structure of the system but i need help.
Thanks, Yol.
michaelk
Welcome to LinuxHelp.

What howto are you trying to figure out?
What distribution are you currently running?
So what are your questions?
yol
QUOTE (michaelk @ Feb 24 2008, 06:59 PM) *
Welcome to LinuxHelp.

What howto are you trying to figure out?
What distribution are you currently running?
So what are your questions?

Hi, i am not sure which distribution i should use thats the first thing.
the second is that i need to know ho to make a system that will only load Kino DV (i do not need the X window and the GUI) automatically soon as the computer is turned on.
thanks.
michaelk
BTW in the future please use a more descriptive title.

Any distribution can be setup without x, to auto login and start running an application. Since distributions are slightly different it is somewhat difficult to provide
help. Which one did you like the best?

However, after looking at kino DV it requires a GUI so not sure what you are trying to do.
yol
QUOTE (michaelk @ Feb 24 2008, 08:22 PM) *