Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Write Protected Folders
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
d12c20y
I am new to Linux. I have Mandriva 2007. I am trying to install plugins for Firefox. When I try to copy them to the appropriate folder, it give me an error message of no write authority to that folder. I know it has something to do with not being signed in as Root but I can't figure out how to sign in as root. will only let me sign in as the usr that I set up.
DS2K3
Open a terminal program like "konsole" and run "su -" to get root privileges (you will need the root password). You can then run "konqueror" to open a file manager which will have root privileges, then just drag-and-drop onto the root file-manager as you would any other.

D
Hemant
Also try reading some more about Linux and how it works:

http://www.linux.org/lessons/beginner/toc.html

And there are couple of more resources elsewhere use google.
d12c20y
That didn't work. Still says that the folder that I am trying to drop to is write protected.
michaelk
What is the specfic directory your try to trying to copy files to? What are its permissions.
d12c20y
I am trying to install flash player for Firefox. It won't install automatically. So, I am following the directions to install manually but it won't let me copy the files to the plugins folder of Firefox.
Corey
QUOTE (d12c20y @ Dec 10 2006, 07:43 PM) *
I am trying to install flash player for Firefox. It won't install automatically. So, I am following the directions to install manually but it won't let me copy the files to the plugins folder of Firefox.

Well, you have a couple of options. If you're the only person using your system, you can just copy them to your personal plugins folder:

mkdir -p ~/.mozilla/plugins (just to be sure you have that directory)
cp libflashplayer.so ~/.mozilla/plugins

Then restart Firefox

Otherwise, to install system wide:

su -
(enter root password)
cp libflashplayer.so /usr/lib/mozilla/plugins
or