Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: HUGEproblem, need help asap
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
Joelk04
Okay well here is the deal.

First off, I'm a newbie to linux, which is why I used a GUI. So I don't know a whole lot about the command line outside basic commands. So step by step help would be best. Just for reference I'm running on an x86 machine (p4 2.4Ghz) and running Fedora Core 5.

Alright now to the HUGE prolem. Basically this is what happened. I had 2 drives = 280GB but I got a sweet deal in a 320GB drive from work, so I picked it up and put it into my server. I took all the files that I needed off the server and put them onto my other computer which had enough space to keep them temporarily. I then installed the drive and formatted (or so I though) the drives that were in the computer using fdisk.

I then proceeded to install Fedora Core 5 (previously running FC3). I set my Samba server back up and transfered the files back to the server. Then I noticed that it was only using the 2 SATA drives and not the IDE drive. So I used the Logical Volume Manager built into Gnome (the GUI included in FC5) to mount the IDE drive into the LogVol00. I then futzed around setting up useres and shares for everyone in my family in SAMBA server settings. All seemed well and good. I restarted the machine and now it won't boot. It just goes into the GRUB prompt. so I tried to unplug the ide drive which didn't help either. My guess is the format didn't get rid of the boot sector on the IDE drive and now FC5 doesn't know which disk to boot from.

Basically my issue is this. I need to boot into FC5 so I can atleast start SAMBA to get my files back. From there I will once again (hopefully with help this time) format and reinstall FC5 and get everything back to working condition.

But yah, first things first, I need to get into FC5 so I can atleast get my files off my drives.
DS2K3