Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Linux on remote machine!
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
Ramandeep
Hello!
I am very new to Linux.
Please provide me some help!
One of my clients wants to install Linux web server, and this installation will have to be done remotly.
What all should i keep in mind before i do the remote installation.
Which software i should use for remote installations and what would be all requirements.

Thanks

Raman
DS2K3
That depends which distribution. Keep in mind that you cant do the whole thing remotely, because you need an operating system to handle the networking. Provided that there is someone at the other end to stick the CD into the drive, and enable the SSH service, then you might be able to do the rest. Gentoo supports it (after you enable the SSH server) and I think debian probably does too. Not sure about Mandriva or FEdora, but they aren't really cut out for servers anyway.

D
Ramandeep
Thanks!
Can i use RH enterprise server or RH Linux 9.
And for remote VNC is fine.
But in loading OS can we have option of remote.

Thanks
Raman

QUOTE (DS2K3 @ Jun 5 2006, 05:16 PM) *
That depends which distribution. Keep in mind that you cant do the whole thing remotely, because you need an operating system to handle the networking. Provided that there is someone at the other end to stick the CD into the drive, and enable the SSH service, then you might be able to do the rest. Gentoo supports it (after you enable the SSH server) and I think debian probably does too. Not sure about Mandriva or FEdora, but they aren't really cut out for servers anyway.

D
michaelk