Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: wireless conection
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
studmuffin007
Help please i have suse linux live DVD to run on my laptop i also instaled suse linux V10 on my tower and was unable to make an internet connection on either of my comps my ISP is AOL and my connection is wierless through a linksys modem router i am very new to linux so i have no idea what to do when it comes to setting up an internet connection i hope to replace win XP on the laptop with suse but will not be able to untill i know how to get online. any help please would be greatfully apreciated.

laptop spec just incase

Packard Bell easynote
win XP home
80gig hd
128mb gc
Termina
Please do not post duplicates.

What kind of wireless cards do you have? (PCI, USB, PCMCIA, etc.).

Please type 'iwconfig' and tell us the output.

Also, the model/manufacturer of the wireless cards will be needed.
studmuffin007
its a PCI card shiped with the laptop and made by Texas Instruments. where do i type iwconfig?
thanks
DS2K3
You need to open a console ("dos box" as the windows world usually call it). You can do this in a number of ways. You can use a program like "konsole" (supplied with KDE) or Xterm which are called termianl-eumlators becuase they "pretend" to be a terminal (console). Or, you can oress ctrl-alt-F1 to get a REAL terminal. They both work the same so it doesnt reaolly matter. It is easier to copy-and-paste from a program like "konsole" though.

You might need to get root permissions (root is the system administrator. You should only "become" root when absolutely necesssary) - To do so, just type "su -" into the terminal and enter the root password when prompted.

To summarise: Once you have your terminal open, type "iwconfig" into it. If it doesnt work, then become root and try again.

D
Termina
'Texas Instruments' doesn't help us; that applies to many, many cards.

Along with the output of 'iwconfig', please give us the output of 'lspci'.