Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Belkin F5d700 Wireless Card On Fedora Core 4
Linuxhelp > Support > Hardware Support
Ianb1972
I am new to linux and want to get away from MS Windows.

Can anyone help me with install my Belkin F5D700 wireless network card, I have downloaded ndiswrapper-1.4 and have all the files needed for the install and installed the Kernel-devel-2.6.11-1.1369_FC4 but I am having a few problem.

In the Installation instructions I got from http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net it says to create a link use this command
ln -s /usr/src/linux-<kernel-version> /lib/modules/VERSION/build

Well I get an error saying it cant file the file, the Kernel I am using is 2.6.11-1.1369_FC4, and that is the <kernel-version> name I use.

I have extracted Ndiswrapper-1.4 and then I type 'Make distclean' all is fine till I type 'Make' then I get an error :

[Ian@localhost ndiswrapper-1.4]$ make
make -C driver
make[1]: Entering directory `/home/Ian/ndiswrapper-1.4/driver'
Can't find kernel sources in /lib/modules/2.6.11-1.1369_FC4smp/build;
give the path to kernel sources with KSRC=<path> argument to make
make[1]: *** [prereq_check] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/Ian/ndiswrapper-1.4/driver'
make: *** [all] Error 2

Even when I change to the root (su -) I still get an error.

Can someone please help me as I really want to ditch my windows XP and get this Linux working 100%

Many thanks
Ian
DS2K3
You need to install the "kernel-source" package. Try running "yum install kernel-sources" (might not need the s on sources)

D
Ianb1972
I have typed Yum install kernel-source and yum install kernel-sources and even yum install kernel-devel and I get the same following error message with every entry of yum install:

[root@localhost ~]# yum install kernel-sources
Setting up Install Process
Setting up repositories
Cannot find a valid baseurl for repo: updates-released
[root@localhost ~]# yum install kernel-source
Setting up Install Process