Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Please Help With Mandrake 9.1
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
infamous
Hi,

I am a newbie to Linux and I decided that it would be a great day to test it out on my machine.

Well, it's f'd up now!

I initially had Windows 98 on C, Win2k on D, and an E parition, and F was my CD Writer.

I burned Mandrake 9.1 ISO and decied to install it.

Now, I think I may have formatted my C, D and E. (I have no access to them. I can not boot to them.) When I stick a windows 98 bootdisk, it doesn't recognize any of the drives.

I'd like to achive the following:
I'd like to go back to Windows on this machine. I'll install Madrake on another Celeron 433.

How do I uninstall Linux? (Keep in mind, that I have NO access to Windows or Dos on this machine. When it boots up, it goes directly to Mandrake.)

Is there anyway to retrive my old info on my NTFS / Fat32 Partitions?

Thanks in advance.
megeddo
you mean when you boot up ,lilo or grub doesnt appear to let ya pick what os ya wanna boot up?
infamous
that's right.

I get 4 linux options.
- linux
- failsafe
- linux entrprise
- and something else...(i'm on another machine, so I don't remember the exact otpion)
cha0s
use expert mode and look at your partitions. if there is a blue one then stick a win98 boot disk in and when you get a prompt type
fdisk /mbr
thatll get rid of lilo but you may need to reinstall windows.
need more info from you to give you better help
michaelk
Assuming you let the MDK installer auto configure everything you might have wiped out any existing struff on the disk. Look at diskdrake from the MDK control center to see how the disk is formated. If you don't see any NTFS or fat32 partitions then you have lost everything.

The MDK installer in the past would of detected windows partitions and configured lilo to boot. During the install process you should of had the change to configure lilo as desired.