Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Boots To Dos
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
w4ffl35
Hello, (I haven't used Linux in while so I'm pretty new to it.)
Here's my question:
I'm trying to boot into a live CD and it goes through the normal start-up porcedures and it boots to Caldera DR-DOS. I've tried this with Knoppix,PHLAK, and Symphony so far.

Here are the computers specs:
Win XP SP2
512 Ram(generic)
Sempron 2800+
no idea on mobo
Hitachi DVD-R
Lite-On DVD+R

If theres any other info that would help just post for it.

Thx in advance.
michaelk
Without additional information I would suspect that your graphics card is not being recognized by any distribution. Do you know its make/model?

BTW linux knows nothing about DOS. What you are refering to is the console terminal. Typically linux has 6 virtual terminals. You can change between them by pressing alt-f1 thru alt-f6. alt-f7 is where x windows i.e the linux GUI runs. The virtual terminal runs a shell usually the Borne Again Shell (BASH) by default. This bash shell is 100X more capable then the DOS.
w4ffl35
Ahh the graphics card!

Any way its a Geforce 5500 256mb (overclocked)

Also not to flame but on the Shell I'm going to say ok, but if what yor saying is true then its not booting into linux at all.
Thanks though
michaelk
Its still linux but you just do not have a GUI running. In a nutshell the GUI has two components, the x server and the desktop or windows managers. To list a few desktops and windows managers, KDE, Gnome, Fluxbox, Busybox, xfce, blackbox etc.
http://www.x.org/X11.html
http://www.linux.org/apps/all/GUI/Window_Managers.html

I didn't find any answers with a quick search. You might be stuck installing a distribution to hard drive instead of using a liveCD due to none of them having the correct Nvidia drivers.
w4ffl35
I think i know what the problem might be--> The HDD

I came to this by trying symphony on my bro's comp (same specs w/o graphics card)