Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Would Appreciate Some Advice!
Linuxhelp > In The Community > General Discussion
Tony4x4
Hi there,

Before I start, I am totally new to Linux and would appreciate some advice.

I have always stayed clear of Linux, because not being that technical and always needing a mission critical platform I have always stayed with "the devil I know" i.e. Windows (no rude comments please! wink.gif )

I have just bought myself a Panasonic Toughbook CF-71 Pentium II which I am going to be using in the field which is not so mission critical, so I thought I would give Linux a try. The main purpose of the notebook to to test and configure WiFi Radios, so I would need to be able to easily change IP addresses, Telnet'ing etc. Also I need to be able to add a PCMCIA Lan card and PCMCIA WiFi card with ease.

Can you please advice as to which Linux I should be using? Apart from the above requirements the version I use should be easy to install with minimum technical knowledge.

Just one other thing. My notebook has a external CD drive which I can't boot from, so I would need to advice on creating a bootable floppy to be able to load the system.

Thanks in advance.

Tony
DS2K3
Mandrake/Mandriva is IMO the most user-friendly distribution. Since it is a European distro (French to be exact) it isnt subjhect to US export controls, meaning that it supports some tihngs that Fedora doesn't (mostly MPEG (inc. MP3)). It also has a WiFi setup utility, no idea if it is any good though.

Linux' support for notebooks isnt great, but since the hardware isnt too new, it should work OK. Mandriva used to have a utility which allowed you to create boot disks using your Windows environment, but I have no idea if it still does.