Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Sos Help
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
animate1978
I am somewhat new to Linux, even though I have played around with it off and on over the years. I am a 3D artist and my Windows 2k workstation that I do all my work on, well...died. It was working one moment then *POOF* dead. Every piece of hardware fried due to *ahem* - DUST. ALL my data was lost, and of course I failed to back up ANYTHING for a good year, somehow thinking my computer was "special".
Anyway, I threw together a Linux system from older systems. I wanted to start to get to know the UNIX system since in the 3D professional world, most of them use UNIX, Linux or IRIX. Well I had two free CDs that I got from a friend of mine years ago, one of them was Mandrake 7.0 (I think), and that sort of worked but for some reason would never recognize any video card or chipset I had, and in order to do 3D work you NEED an X11 server running. SO I threw in Storm Linux 2000, the other CD and with some tweaking I made it work, even though the only working resolution I can have is 640x480. Later I found out that the company ceased to exist like 5 years ago.
Then I went and found the software I needed to get my system into a decent 3D workstation. I managed to download stuff like Blender, Aqsis, K3D and some shader editing/creating software.
Now I ran into a HUGE roadblock, NONE of the software (I downloaded the debian packages) will install because I don't have current libraries. I went to the local library (the only way to get on the net for now) and for some reason do not have the completed list of software I need, so I can't give you much examples. BUT I did go on to the main Debian FTP site to get at least a few, and of course the files I need depend on even more files and so on and so on.