Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New To Linux But Not Unix
Linuxhelp > In The Community > General Discussion
CanMike
I've would like to install a copy of Red Hat Enterprise Linix WS on a Intel PIII 750mz Dell PC.

I'm a Oracle DBA and would like to install Oracle 10G on the Linix machine and test my applications (Java) from my new P4 Dell.

I've use Unix based Oracle (Solaris) at work, but have been consulting for the last while and realized that I had to test against a Linux O/S.

My old Dell (PIII) is a good machine, but I'm concerned about installing this version of Linux on it. Does anybody know of any problems with this favour of a Intel Chip? I don't want to dual boot on the old Dell, I'd rather have just Linux on it.

Thanks
Mike in Toronto, Canada
DS2K3
Should run fine - Especially if you dont run X on top of it too. If you ahve expereince with UNIX then you shouldnt have any probs using Linux at the command line since (I believe) it is pretty similar.

Any problems, just ask, we like helping. Honest.

D
CanMike
Thanks.

I'd run everything using Linux, but I can't get my wife off of (gulp) a Microsoft platform.
DS2K3
My sister coped fine moving to Linux... Once she realised she could ahve four desktops with KDE, and different wallpaper on each she was perfectly happy. Not to mention she now has a good excuse to have a cute penguin as wallpapper...

OpenOffice is a good replacement for M$ Office, and XMMS/Kaffeine/MPlayer/Xine/Amarok are alll good replacements for media player.

D
CanMike
Again, thank-you.

Another problem I have getting my wife off of Windows, is ensuring all her Excel and Word docs can be shared by her office. You know how Microsoft has convinced most of offices suits that compatibility between Linux and Windows is nonexistence. Junk! but she is convinced that she will never be able to share files again. What are you going to do?

Are OpenOffice files sharable?