Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Help! Oh God What Have I Done?
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
Richie
Hi,
I've been using fedora core 2 for the last couple of months, I'm pretty new to Linux but finding my way around fast.
I was trying to get my cd berner to work, using gtoaster, was all going fine, but i think I set some path options very badly, and it deleted the contents of my second hard drive.

I have two Hard drives, one for the linux operating system and all, the other, formatted as vfat with all my data on. E.g music, photos, documents, etc. this is the drive that is now blank!

On realising what had happend I unmounted my harddrive, removed it from fstab, shut down and took out my hard drive, to preserve it in... well the state it is in.

What I don't know is, How do I undelete. What is the command, and how do I use it? The data isn't in my wast bin, and as I understand it, when data is deleted it just removes it from the toc, but the data is still there, so long as nothing over writes it, or is it just DOS that works this why?

Is there anyway of saving the information I have lost?

Please help!!!!!
Thankyou.
Jim
Data recovery is tricky even if it hasn't been written over. Are you sure that the contents where deleted? How are you sure? Do you have windows on your system too? Like I said, data recovery is tricky, but we will try our best to help you out here.
Richie
Thanks for the reply,

I'm pretty sure it is deleted. The file browser showed the directory it was mounted in as empty, so did ls as root in a terminal. It is also a 20gig drive, and i forget were, but in gnome I glanced at something that said it had 19.somthingG free, I then got the drive out asap to try and save it while I find out what I'm doing.