Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Monitor
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
eesahe
Hello,

I'm kinda new to Linux. I decided to try out Red Hat 9, but my monitor got "out of scan range" when I tried to install it in graphical mode. Well, I installed it in text mode but I can't get to X now. I did a quick google about the problem and found out that I could go to kernel and try to edit the file etc/X11/XF86Config. Well, lowering the rates and resolution didn't resolve the problem, and I renamed it and tried running redhat-config-xfree86 and redhat-config-xfree86 -reconfig, but still no help.

Any ideas what I could try? My monitor is Sony Multiscan E200. And sorry about the bad english :)
Robert83
Hello,

first things first

check in the monitors manual the correct HorizSync and VerRefresh
and in your /etc/X11/XF86Config file search for something like this type in the proper values

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Samsung"
HorizSync 31.5
VertRefresh 50-90
EndSection

also you can try vesa for a first run [b](but DO CHANGE THE ABOVE HZ'S TO CORRECT VALUES!!!!)[b/]

Section "Device"
Identifier "Matrox" ---> yours will be different change this to vesa
Driver "mga"
VideoRam 8192
BusID "PCI:0:12:0"
EndSection

then startx (and it should work without any problems)

if that works

then

cd /etc/
vi inittiab
and change that runlevel id something thingie to 5 instead of 3 you'll see that's right at the beggining

Sincerely
Robert B
eesahe
First, thank you about your response.

I edited the file etc/X11/XF86Config, and changed the "Monitor" and "Device" sections to these:

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Trinitron"
HorizSync 30.0 - 85.0
VertRefresh 48.0 - 120.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Vesa"
Driver "mga"
VideoRam 8192
BusID "PCI:0:12:0"
EndSection

What should I write in the "Screen" section? Now it has these lines:

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Vesa"
Monitor "Trinitron"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24