Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Help Installing Games
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
Conrad_Caterpillar
I'm still pretty new to linux
I have Suse 9.1 personal

I just bought Hemming Linux Games CD ... its comes with instrustions but its not making sense to me.... I tried looking up info online and also came up with nothing

the directions say to:

Open the index_e.htm in the CDs main directory
Select program group
Copy the respective file onto your hard disk by clicking on "Copy Program"
Extract the program (e.g. by using a program such as midnight commander)
Follow the installation instructions

ok.... so I get to the games list and I see where it sez to "Copy File" but when I click it it just shows me the folder... and from there I have no idea how to extract... I tried something I read online....I used tar -zxvf FileName.tar on a shell and that added the file to my Desktop... but then I can't do anything more from there.... I tried going into the directory of this file and do ./configure - nothing happens. then I try to make then make install - again nothing happens...
does anyone out there know an easy way for my to get these games on my system??

Thanks
DS2K3
Assming you are using KDE, then right click and select "Extract" (or the other relevant option)

D
Conrad_Caterpillar
no KDE
but I think I got the extract part down with the tar -zvf command... I'm having problems with the actual install
and Make make install does nothing
rdionne1187
i assume u have a folder on your desktop with the games source files in it,
open the terminal, and type
"./configure"
it should go through some stuff make sure u dont get any errors
-then type
"make"
once again make sure there are no errors, then finally type
"make install"
and that should do it, however, i believe that suse linux doesn not package gcc and the make binary, youll probably need to install gcc, and make, and im not quite sure where to get them
DS2K3