Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Debian Xfree86 Nvidia Drivers?
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
cyrlane
Hi, I'm a totally newbie and I tried to install Debian (Woody the stable version) on to my PC. I logged in as a user after installing (not as root) and typed "startx" and got a screen full of text, basically ending in the error message, " (EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usuable configuration. Fatal Server error: no screens found". So I googled about for a while and after spending some time at debianhelp.org, it seemed like I should download nVidia drivers (I have a GeForce2 GTS chipset) and install them. Except I can't figure out how to get them onto my computer (I downloaded them onto a different computer and burned them to cd). I tried mount /dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom and mount /dev/cdrom /cdrom and both got me "no such file or directory", then I tried /dev/cdrom and got "permission denied". I know that root has all the power so I logged out and logged back into root and tried /dev/cdrom again but still got "permission denied", so now I'm stumped. How do I get xWindows to work?
hughesjr
unless you need 3D graphics, you don't have to load the nvidia drivers.

I think your problem may be that your video card and monitor settings in /etc/X11/XF86Config are not correct.

please look at the info in the /etc/X11/XF86Config file in these sections:

CODE
Section "Monitor"
       DisplaySize       400   300     # mm
       Identifier   "Monitor0"
       VendorName   "NEC"
       ModelName    "NEC E1100"
       HorizSync   31.0 - 82.0
       VertRefresh 55.0 - 120.0
       Option      "DPMS"
EndSection

CODE
Section "Device"
       Identifier  "Card0"
       Driver      "nv"
       VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
       BoardName   "5200 FX"
       BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

The impotant parts are the driver (it should be nv) ... and HorizSync and VertRefresh.