Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Iomega Zip100 Ide/atapi Drive Install
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
bgagnon
Hello Everyone, First of I am totally new to Linux. I read Joey's internal ide zip drive guide, but I ran into a brick wall. When I entered the command "cd /usr/src/linux" there was no Linux directory. I am totally lost trying to install this zip drive. It works fine in windows98 so I know its not defective. I am running suse linux 9.1 and it works great. In fact, until I need to use my zip drive I may not run windows for a long time. I went to the Iomega web site and got their tgz file which I "untarred" and derived the iomegaware folder iwcl-lnx-x86-10-english. This folder is supposed to have the drivers and the iomegaware software. It has two files, a readme.txt file and an executable file called iw. The readme file isn't much help for me as far as how to install the drivers, and I don't care about the software. I figured I must have to run that iw executable file. So, being a window's user I clicked on the file and of course nothing happened. I also found that entering iw on the command line also did nothing except tell me the command could not be found (I am logged in as root). Thinking that maybe the file already executed I went ahead and mounted the drive. After following the Iomega instructions I still have no zip drive. Pls help. Bob Gagnon
Jim
first the problem with /usr/scr/linux That simply means that you don't have the linux source rpm installed. You need to find and install the kernel-source rpm for your kernel. Here is a link to one for the 2.6.4-52 kernel

kernel-source-2.6.4-52.src.rpm

DO NOT use that rpm unless you have the kernel version. If you don't and you can't one to match, come back and one of us will find it for you.