Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: My Libretto
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
themacuser
okay so heres my problem, and yes i really really need help.

i have a a Toshiba Libretto 100CT. i bought it in a garage sale for a madd hott price. it came with windows 95 preinstalled and it has pcmcia support and a port extender. i then bought a panasonic kxl-783a cd rom drive. i was never able to get the driver to work and shortly after i bought it, windows lost a critical file and refused to boot up. now the only option i have is to use DOS.

I bought the cd rom drive in the hopes of installing red hat 7.1 and now that i dont have windows 95, i dont have cd rom support or network support now that i am in dos and i am desperate to get redhat on there, i cant remove the hard drive,

what can i do, someone please help me, im a student and as soon as school starts, i have to put the computers away!

Please send help!!!

-that one guy
michaelk
It has been awhile since I've played with 7.1. You will need to create a floppy boot disk and possibly a driver floppy. If you view the 1st install CD there are two directories /dosutils and /images. The /dosutils directory contains the rawrite.exe (DOS version ) and, or rawritewin (windows version) for creating the floppies. The /images directories contain the files used to create the disks. There should be readme files that briefly explain the files. Hopefully you have a floppy disk drive.

Here is the documentation.
http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/linux/R...TEPS-MAKE-DISKS
themacuser
I appreciate all of your input, however, i do not have a floppy drive. let me give you more sight towards my problem.

being the piece of garbage ( i hope you forgive my bias ) that windows 95 is, it lost the vmm32.vxd memory manager file. i used a method of extraction to rebuild all of the memory files i lost but it still didnt work.