Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New And Stuck
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
snapdragon
Hi, I am new to Linux and I wondered if anyone here had time to answer some questions. I am using Mandrake Powerpack 10.0 but there wasn't any documentation provided with my install disc.

I installed a Linux game called Docking Station and I want to put some .agent files into its directory. I found the directory by going up from the 'home' on the desktop, but I can't seem to be able to copy files into any of the directories above the 'home' one -- I get an 'access denied' message. I tried opening a command window and dragging the files into that, but that doesn't work either. I am using the minumum security setting and my account was set up as the administrator. Sorry if I'm being obtuse and the solution is really obvious. :-)

The other question I would like to ask is how to connect to the internet using Linux. This is something I know very little about on Windows as the connection I had before was an insert-a-disc and go type. Can I get a Freeserve connection like I had before, or am I limited to the Linux ISP? If so, does anyone know the costs of it.

Thanks,

-Manda.
lesio1974
i am not an expert, so this will not be a detailed answer, at least when it comes to the first part of your post;

In Linux different users will have different level of access to the files and directories. You have to have a "permission" to do anything to a file or directory; if you get "access denied" when you try to open/delete/copy a file or to save a file in a directory, that means you do not have permission to write to that directory; sorry, I am not that skilled to tell you how to do it, but I bet that someone more knowledgable will pitch in and post the instructions for you;