Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Startup Script...
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
rich
Hi,
I am rather new to the whole opensourcey linuxey thing, so please be nice blink.gif .

I am running RedHat Enterprise 3 and have recently installed Antivir 2.1.1.

As a means of getting the Antvir Avguard component running I have also recently downloaded Dazuko and configured it to run the Avguard component as a node (using /sbin/insmod) as the Dazuko readme instructs.

The issue I am having is that once Dazuko has been configured and added as a node and the Avguard component installed and configured to run at startup, I test the config by shutting down and restarting the machine to find that the Avguard component has not loaded.

OK, now to the questions:
1. Can I write a script to configure and add Dazuko as a node as a non-su?
2. Can I then specify that script to run as a non-su when the machine boots up?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Cheers smile.gif
Rich
hughesjr
I don't use these specific products ....

How do you start the service right now (what is the command ... and who is the user).
rich
I am not sure it is running as a service, during installation it asked if it could run at startup to which I answered yes. Now when the machine boots up it does display the avguard startup but an error occurs while it's trying to start stating that it couldn't find /usr/lib/Antivir/Linux-2.4.21-4.EL/dazuko.o...

I am not entirely sure why it is looking to /Linux-2.4.21-4.EL/ as it exists under /usr/src/ rather than /usr/lib/Antivir/???

I have tried adding this component as a service to run on all levels as well but it won't accept it as a legitimate service.

I have since written a little script to run as root whenever the machine starts up but, of course, I need to log in as root run it then logout and log back in as a normal user. Which is entirely inconvenient.

Script is as follows:

'cd /usr/src/kernel-modules/dazuko/
./configure