Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Fc1: Bind Timeouts At Retreival Of Most Domains
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
remi
Hello all,

It's my first time here. I register to know if you would have an answer to my question about the BIND DNS server. I asked other forums before and they were puzzled as well...

I have Fedora Core 1, so of course I already have BINDv9 installed. By default in FC1, BIND runs in a chroot jail. I'm trying to do a nameserver for my LAN (not for the Internet, obviously). On that nameserver, you would be able to resolve domain names from the Internet, like everyone else, but also resolve anything on my special domain extension .kawamura.eremi.net. only within the LAN. This is to test Web sites I'm developing and I'm getting tired of editing the 'hosts' file on each machine for that...

After having started named and using `dig @localhost` to retreive records, it works perfectly with my local 'kawamura' domain, but it will only work with some domains from the Internet.

It works fine with most .com, most .net, and no other TLDs, including the generics and the country-specifics. Either dig reports "status: SERVFAIL" or "connection timed out; no servers could be reached". Increasing the timeout in dig doesn't help.

You can read my configuration at http://sadako.eremi.net/bind/ . I use the file var/named/named.cache for the root servers. named.ca has now became outdated. There is also a log in var/named/named.run that tells you what happens for each Internet domains I tried to resolve with dig. Some worked, some didn't. Yet, the log gives me no idea about where is the problem.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance.
remi
Sorry about the multiple posts. I tried to post with Mozilla, but it was getting stuck loading after 5 minutes... I didn't know that it actually posted.
hughesjr
I use this named.ca file with bind 9 on WhiteBox Enterprise Linux and I have no problems resloving names....At least I don't think I do.