Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Samba Server With Raid...how Do I Do It?
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
going_tech
I would like to setup an Samba server with Raid on my computer running Redhat 9.0. Is this too difficult a project for a Linux Noob? Is Redhat 9.0 a good distro for this?
hughesjr
RedHat 9 no longer gets updates from RH .... I would use CentOS as the OS.

What kind of RAID? ... Hardware RAID, software RAID ... SCSI Drives, IDE Drives, SATA Drives?

See this thread concerning Enterprise Linux
going_tech
Which RAID is better hardware or software? Is there a big difference between them? I would use IDE drives, because I have a few of them laying around. (Thought I was kidding when I said I was a Noob, didn't ya?!?) blink.gif
going_tech
OK, I read up on RAID and I have some better answers. I would like to do software RAID with IDE drives. I am leaning towards RAID 1+0, because data loss in more of a concern than performance increase. I am using an older desktop, 300Mhz with 192MB RAM. Will that be enough or do I need to upgrade? Do I need to keep my server configuration simple in order to accomidate RAID? Will RAID work with Samba or do I need to setup a domain? Is there a reason that Noob and Boob rhyme? blink.gif
hughesjr
OK that machine will do fine as a server ... but not with X Windows running all the time.

You can install X-windows (ie the GUI), but later you should make it boot into non-gui mode and run X only when required.

The RAID doesn't affect samba.

Once RAID is working ... the filesystem is like any other.

You say you are not woried about performance ... but RAID level 1 (mirroring) is VERY slow.

RAID level 5 is a fairly good compromise...but it requires 3 drives.

The more drives you can use in the RAID, the better ... both for speed and reliability.

But without another controller card, on most boards 3 is the max you can setup.