Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: X Window Error & Internet Problem....
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
ando
first of all, after login, i type startx the screen goes black and some text goes down but it doesnt load. at the bottom it says:
XIO: fatal IO error 104 (Connection reset by peer) on X server ":0.0" after 0 requests (0 known processed) with 0 events remaining.

also, i understand to configure the internet you type netconfig. i have 3 ethernet cards and 1 wifi card so i need to tell the computer to use the wifi, and cause i have wifi, i have a router so i need to know how i can enter the ip, dubnet, gateway, and how i can enter the encrypted password.

ps
im a noob, using slackware distro and i have windows xp installed (dule boot using lilo)

thank you very much,
ando
Jim
Lets start with the x stysem, because thats what I know, I don't know wi-fi.

You have one of two problems, either you /etc/X11/XF86Config file has an error in it, or you need to install some modules for your video card. What kind of card are you using? Whats the rest of the error? Usually there is something like "Screens found, non with usual configurations" or something, that will give me a little bit more of a hint as to whats going wrong.
ando
im using a gforce 5200, there is no more on the error, but i can go and find what it reads before the section i posted.

thanks again for helping me out.
Jim
well we should start by installing the nvidia modules.

Try this first, open up your /etc/X11/XF86Config file and go down to the "Device section, make sure that the Driver is "nv" not "nvidia"

If it wasn't, change it, save it, and try startx and see what happens.

Ok, but either way you need to install the nvidia module. If you have an internet connection from the command line you can type the command

wget http://download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x...0-6106-pkg1.run