Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Mandrake 10 Install Problem
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
gaz_dc
While trying to install Mandrake 10 Community, I can get as far as starting to install the packages. However, it only goes so far and then freezes. It freezes at random packages each time. I am at a complete loss. I have tried downloading the ISOs several times and checked the md5s. Exactly the same happens when I try to install on my wifes laptop.

I do not think it is a hardware problem as on my wifes laptop and my desktop I have previously installed RedHat and Mandrake 9.2. I am now trying to set them both up as duel boot systems with Mandrake 10 and Windows XP (sorry - can't leave ms behind completely!).

I am a Linux newbie and a life long Windows/DOS user, so any help will have to be quite simplistic!

Thanks in advance
Jim
What kind of computer(s) are we talking about here, older newer what?

There a few things you can try, try these three options for the install. When the first menu comes up right away and its like "Press enter for regular install or F2 for more options" (or something to the like) press the button for "more options" and try these three commands linux noprobe and linux nofb and linux nousb

Try each one seperatly and see if it hangs. Let us know whats happening.
gaz_dc
Thanks for the suggestions. I tried each of those in turn with no luck - each time it just froze. Any other ideas?

My desktop is an AMD 2800 with 512MB RAM with an ASUS X Series motherboard, A7N8X-X if that means anything to you. The laptop is a Dell Inspiron 3700. As I stated originally, I have managed to install RedHat and Mandrake 9.2 on both of these machines with no problems, so I don't think it is hardware related.
lobogobo