Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Modems Ahhhh!
Linuxhelp > Support > Hardware Support
gaviidae
This probably goes to Robert...
I read the modem posts here... I'm a Linux newbie who's reading every Idiots and Dummies Linux books (some of them are very good) --Oreillys are waaay beyond me now :) But I must go to work to get online, so all these downloadable modem softwares are out of reach. I have a Gateway laptop (another problem, no serial ports) with an AMIBIT Microsystems Winmodem (even if someone were to write a driver for this, I cannot download at work, forbidden), so I intend to buy an external modem that I can maybe use. What would anyone recommend? I have 2 USB ports so I'm leaning that way. Cable not available here. (The companies all say they don't support UNIX...what?!?) Note I bought a few modems, returned them because they only only only work with windows, can I try one that can deal with Mac OS since that's kinda UNIXy?
Now by newbie I mean I can turn a computer on, off, and check email :) I'm willing to try to write a driver (!) if I can print out instructions somewhere (again catch22 I can't download sans modem! so I would have to print). I have multiple Linux distros as I am still learning stuff; I have Mandrakes 9.2 and 10, Fedora Core, and a bootable Knoppix 3.3 that can't find my printer :)
Note I have a geek friend trying to help me, but so far no such luck.
Thx even if I get shouted off this site, I'm stuck!!!
Robert83
Hi

Please read this :

http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/Modem-HOWTO.html

This should give you enough info about what modem NOT to buy , and once you have bought a good modem [hardware modem] , then you can install it via this howto, I think this should be good enough for you to begin from.