Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Need Server Help
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
ghassman
I'm a Win2k systems administrator that is branching out. I have embraced the MAC and now I would like to learn Linux Server. I have downloaded Red Hat 9 and burned the CDs. Last night I installed it on a PC. 1800Mhz P4, 500MB ram and an 8 GB Hard drive. I chose the server instelation and everything went flawlessly. I created an account for myself and after the reboot I logged on. My question is Where's the GUI interface? All I have to work with is a terminal window. What do I do now. Bear in mind that I'm a complete newbe to Linux. Can anyone point me to a good article or book that can get me on the right path.

Thank You
Robert83
Hi,

maybe you didn't install any X window manager (gnome or kde) ?

you can check by typing : startx in the console

if it works then I think you will want to make that the default

just :
1) cd /etc
2) vi inittab
and press i to go into insert mode (to change stuff)
and search for the line inittlevel (?) id: 3 (sorry writing from WinXP, but you can't miss it) and change that 3 to 5
then press ESC , then enter :w and then ENTER , then enter :q then ENTER
and now type
reboot
and it should boot into the x window manager

Sincerely
Robert B
hughesjr
Note: I moved this from Tips & Tricks to Technical Support.

The Tips & Tricks section is for posting how to do things ... all questions should be asked in another forum.

Welcome to Linux smile.gif
ghassman
Thank you Robert

I am going to reinstall the whole thing. Thank goodness it doesn't take very long. When I do the install which X window manager is the most intuative for a new person like me to use?

George
hughesjr
The default for redhat is GNOME .... and it is what I personally like.

Others here like KDE best.

If you have lots of space on your hard drive, install both and you can use both and choose.
ghassman