Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Trouble Mounting Ntfs Drives
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
dougberg
Ok, forgive me if this is an easy solution, for I am new to Linux. I recently installed Slackware 9.1, And basically what I want to do is mount my hard drive(s) so that I am able to play my media in linux. Here is what I have set up:
/hda1 - my C drive, has XP installed on it
/hda5 - linux partition (Drive H in XP), mounted and runs fine.
/hdb1 - my D drive, has all my media on it.

Now, I have done tons of research, and found that I am supposed to add a couple lines to my fstab. I have added this:
/dev/hda1 /mnt/windows ntfs user,noauto,ro 0 0
/dev/hdb1 /mnt/windows ntfs user,noauto,ro 0 0
Spaced properly of course. Both drives are formatted ntfs. However, if I go into my /mnt/ directory there is nothing there. Any solutions? I just dont want to have to have 2 copys of all the songs I want to listen to... thanks in advance for your help!
Corey
First off, you need to change your fstab entries. Currently the way you have it entered it will try to mount both drives in the same place (think of it as trying to set two drives to C: in windows, obviously, it's not possible). So, i would suggest altering them to the following:

/dev/hda1 /mnt/winxp ntfs user,noauto,ro 0 0
/dev/hdb1 /mnt/media ntfs user,noauto,ro 0 0

Now, while logged in as root user, you need to create the "mount point":

mkdir /mnt/winxp
mkdir /mnt/media

Now you should be able to mount the two:

mount /mnt/winxp
mount /mnt/media

There are two downfalls when dealing with NTFS in linux. First, you cannot write to them safely, so, everything on your WinXP and Media partitions cannot be altered in linux. (There are ways, but they have yet to be proven safe). The second thing is that you cannot allow users to mount and read NTFS partitions.