Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Distro-tip Me!
Linuxhelp > In The Community > General Discussion
odinsa
I am a Windows-in-the-conversion-process user of Linux. That is, I have used Windows all my life, but I can't afford an upgrade, and I like Linux anyway!
I became aquainted with Linux through the old Red Hat 7.2 distro. Soon found out that it was outdated and that there were a LOT of alternative distros just waiting to be downloaded. After some research searching the net and my soul and my heart, I landed on Ark Linux - a fine European distro.

However, in my search I avoided the distros with text-based installations, even though I've never attempted to do one. I am not yet entirely comfortable with Linux-names and expressions, so some VITAL information about certain distros might have been lost on me! Therefore, I turn to you!

I am new to Linux, yes, but I'm not a complete computer-illiterate. I would prefer a distro without a time-consuming installation. If I get stuck I get very annoyed and reminded of the numerous times I've struggled with Windows. I am not, however, looking for a Win-clone - I've got Win98, that's more than enough! Also, I would like a distro that is up-to-date with applications, especially for multimedia, office and the internet. I do not expect to be developing anything for Linux in quite a while, so development-tools are not important to me.
Just to mention it, I've got an AMD Athlon, and I would like the distro to be free wink.gif

Please suggest anything that you think fits my 'requrements', minor or major distros. Go wild!

Thanx
OdinSA
Robert83
Hi,

Well if you want a distro with the latest kernel and a lot of new stuff then Mandrake 10 would be your choice :

http://www.mandrakelinux.com/en/ftp.php3#586

you need to download the binary images, not the source ones [unless you want to do something with the source]