Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Second Hard Drive Issue
Linuxhelp > Support > Hardware Support
hohner
Hi,

I have Redhat 9 installed on my pc, I also have a second hdd installed which was previously used with windows and is formatted using NTFS.
This second drive is purely for data and as such has no operating system installed.
I would like to access this drive from Linux but as I'm a newbie I have no idea how to go about it.
I know you have to mount drives, I have tried but not sure if I tried correctly... it returned the drive is already mounted.
I'm pretty confused as to what to do, I'd like to learn more about Linux as I don't want to have to return to Windows.

Thanks in advance
Jim
If the drive was in the computer when you installed Red Hat it is probably automatically mounted for you at each boot.

Go to your /mnt folder and it should be in there somewhere. I don't know how Red Hat assings names so I can't tell you exactly where.

If you want it to be loaded somewhere else, you will need to edit your fstab file. For help with that come back and ask.
hohner
Thanks for replying so soon....

I went to /mnt but there are only two items there... cdrom and floppy.
Perhaps the second hdd is not mounted? If not how would I go about mounting it?

Thanks
hohner
I have ran the hardware browser and the hdd is listed as /dev/hdb so I would assume it is mounted already? I was present during installation of Linux Redhat9
Jim
your slave drive on the first IDE channel is usually refered to as hdb.

To mount the drive first make a folder to mount it to
# mkdir Slave or what ever
than
# mount /dev/hdb /mnt/slave

That should work, if it tells you that its mounted already post your fstab file. You can find it in /etc from there I can tell you where its mounted.
hohner
I created the slave directory, then tried to mount using the command line you supplied but it said I must specify file system type..

here is the fstab..
LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1