Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Alsa Sound Problem
Linuxhelp > Support > Hardware Support
Sage_Of_Sloth
I am new to linux, and I recently installed collegelinux2.5 on my computer (k7sem elitegroup motherboard w/ onboard sis7018 soundcard), which went well. When I installed, there were some messages about the sound module before the automatic volume configuration. On the first bootup the sound worked fine, but as soon as I rebooted, the startup messages had an error that said something like "device on irq 5 not installed or busy" and several errors when trying to load the alsa sound modules. I checked on my windows patitions, and my sound card is on irq 5. I have skimmed through a few howto's at tldp, but didn't find anything that i could use.

any help would be appreciated.-thanks

dmesg gives the following info:
Linux version 2.4.23 (root@midas) (gcc version 3.3.2) #6 Sat Nov 29 22:47:03 PST 2003

Trident 4DWave PCI soundcard not found or device busy
PCI: Found IRQ 5 for device 00:01.4

biggrin.gif I found that i need to login as root and run "modprobe trident" every time for sound to work. Is there a better way to do this?
Hemant
Have you tried...to configure your sound card using command
CODE
# sndconfig

if not then give it a try..As you sound card works..after doing modprobe...so sndconfig should detect your sound card and configure..it..without problems...
Sage_Of_Sloth
I just tried it, but got the message "-bash: sndconfig: command not found"
Robert83
Hi,

you could check your

/etc/modules.conf [or modprobe.conf] (sorry I'm writing from a XP machine)

and see if you sound card has a alias there for the trident module.

Sincerely
Robert B
Hemant
try...
# /sbin/sndconfig

or else what is the output of command.

# whereis sndconfig
Sage_Of_Sloth