Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Disk Space
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
andy1974
Since i am a newbie i dont know much about the file system of linux..ie swap...but anyhow.....i installed fedora core 1 as server on a 8gb drive and i noticed that the shareddrive says it only has 1 gb space free....is tis correct??......did it take 6.5 gb of space to install??? :S ?is it a partionting thing??i see 3 partions on the disk...i am sooooo confused :S
Robert83
Hi,

Open up a terminal window, and type df [or type df in console]...it will display available space on your partitions.

You did a full install?

I guess you allowed Fedora to automaticaly partition your drive, then it probably did a /boot 102MB
/ 7000MB [aprox] and a /swap 1000MB [aprox]

Sincerely
Robert B
Robert83
Are you using a Samba File server, is that what you mean about that shared drive?
andy1974
yes...it partitioned the drive auto......And yes a samba file server....Are you trying to say that the shared drive is in the swap partition ?? unsure.gif blink.gif wink.gif huh.gif ph34r.gif sad.gif
andy1974
Whoops yea i did a full install.....
Robert83
No....

it is located in /

some directory you shared with samba... check your /etc/samba/smb.conf

it is possible then that you only have 1GB free space left...

you could check it on the linux computer with df

and post back the results here

Sincerely
Robert B
andy1974
unsure.gif if i parted it manually how would it be?? swap = ? boot = ? on a 8 gb dirive??
ph34r.gif
andy1974
BTW....Thanks for your help......your teaching me alot smile.gif
Robert83
Oh,

and just one good advice,...even if it's a 8GB hard drive, I always partition the disk manualy, I mean If you share a drive with samba...there is this little thingie ,that you share your 7GB / , and if you got only 1GB free space, and your users are uploading, your linux computer may run out of space...and that is somethig you wouldn't want...