Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Can't Initialize Eth0 In Mandrake 10.0c
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
GTS
sorry if i'm going over old ground but i'm new to all this..... was told i needed linux for a masters project, so i called a friend that knows a little more and he suggested mandrake 10.0c. he's how overseas smile.gif, what a useful bloke....

install went OK though i'm having issues with the internet. i use cable internet, so playing with the mandrake configuration tool got me about 10 minutes of internet use before it'd drop out (something about heartbeat packets particular to this ISP that I have to adress). i dl'd a login client rpm, set that up and things worked ok for a bit, but same problem.

someone advised i had to get a DHCP program running on the OS not thinking that mandrake had the facility to do this itself - so i did this, internet went great until i rebooted - now i'm having problems getting just about anything right.

on verbose boot it starts my network cards first (two, one for the internet, one for the LAN), then the internet connection, then the login client. the internet connection had always failed, but now eth0 (the NIC it's on) fails too. regularly. the login client still loads ok. selecting DHCP for the network adapter (in the network setup utility (drakconfig?)) isn't amending this either, neither is swapping this network card out for a different one, or running just the one card.

interestingly when i check "monitor connections" and try to connect, it can recieve data but can't connect to anything. running "ifup eth0" fails too.

if anyone can help with this it would be very, very appreciated. this is my first exposure to linux and i've got to say that this aside.... impessive to say the least.

again, hope i haven't overlooked something that hasn't been covered, and thanks in advance.
Robert83
Hi,

I have a cable modem to , connected to my ethernet card, using DHCP for both private and public internet...