Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Compiling 2.0.38 Kernel
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
Sidla
Hi,

I'm fairly new at this so I'm probably doing something stupid. I'm trying to compile a linux 2.0.38 kernel for use with an embedded distribution of Linux called ETLinux. For some reason I can't get it to work. Here is what I've tried to do:

1. Extracted the source files
2. Entered the 'linux' directory
3. make mrproper
4. make menuconfig (I also tried 'make xconfig' and 'make config' but it made no difference)
5. make dep
6. make zImage (Tried 'make bzImage' too)

Now according to my reference book (Linux Complete), there should be a file called zImage in the 'arch/i386/boot' directory. However, after many attempts this file fails to appear. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance,
Sid.
Termina
May I ask why you're using 2.0.38 instead of, say 2.4.25?

(Curious)
chrisw
you didnt happen to notice the "embedded" part of his question?

what kind of errors are you getting? can you post them here...we can take a look at them....for looking at the steps you have done...i believe you missed a few..thats why you are running into trouble.
Termina
No idea what that means, thus my "curious" statement.

I did not mean to say that that was what was wrong, I was honestly curious as to what 2.0.x was.
chrisw
its the 2.0.x version of kernels...they are smaller than the ones now so they are usually used for embedded systems...like using linux on pdas.....controllers for appliances....etc......everything has to fit on such a small device or use very low memory/space.....no problem...sure you didnt know.....
Termina
That was 36 .'s

wink.gif

Oh, cool, thanks. =-)
Sidla
QUOTE (chrisw @ Mar 31 2004, 03:01 PM)
what kind of errors are you getting? can you post them here...we can take a look at them....for looking at the steps you have done...i believe you missed a few..thats why you are running into trouble.