Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Can't Get Sound To Work.
Linuxhelp > Support > Hardware Support
Tecno88
Hi everyone! I'm very new to the Linux world and decided to try Mandrake Linux 10 on my HP N5430 laptop. To my surprise I was able to get it running fairly easily and have even installed software such as OpenOffice without any issues.

However, I can not get my sound card to work! huh.gif From what I have read, the correct driver to use is the maestro3. I have tried both maestro3 and snd-maestro3; neither one outputs sound. I have checked all of the volume controls and they are all set as high as possible. What could I have done wrong?

Many thanks!

Edit: Silly me I forgot to say what sound card my laptop has. It is an ESS ES1988Allegro-1
Robert83
Hi

check you're /etc/modprobe.conf or /etc/modules.conf

what is the alias for you're sound card?

once found try

a modprobe sound_card_module_here

also you should check you're /var/log/messages for any errors regarding you're sound card

Sincerely
Robert B
Tecno88
QUOTE (Robert83 @ Mar 31 2004, 03:56 PM)
Hi

check you're /etc/modprobe.conf or /etc/modules.conf

what is the alias for you're sound card?

once found try

a modprobe sound_card_module_here

also you should check you're /var/log/messages for any errors regarding you're sound card

Sincerely
Robert B

Hi, thanks for the reply!

Ok, my modprobe.conf file is showing the following:

alias sound-slot-1 snd-maestro3
alias eth0 tulip
alias sound-slot-0 snd-maestro3
install scsi_hostadapter /sbin/modprobe imm; /sbin/modprobe ppa; /bin/true
install snd-ens1370 /sbin/modprobe --first-time --ignore-install snd-ens1370 && { /sbin/modprobe snd-pcm-oss; /bin/true; }
install snd-es1968 /sbin/modprobe --first-time --ignore-install snd-es1968 && { /sbin/modprobe snd-pcm-oss; /bin/true; }
install snd-maestro3 /sbin/modprobe --first-time --ignore-install snd-maestro3 && { /sbin/modprobe snd-pcm-oss; /bin/true; }