Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: How To Install Software
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
rothko
I am new to Linux and have installed Mandrake 9.2. Could someone please tell me how to install software-e.g. --'a cover disc . In windows you just pop it in and sit back but with linux i gather you have to....... well do something but what I dont know.
hughesjr
you can install software with RPMDrake ....

Open the Mandrake Control Center and Pick software
rothko
Thank you Hughesjr-----there is however a PROBLEM , ie----many many years ago I bought a commodore and without realizing it, was in a little time actually writing programms in dos--------that WAS years ago so when I got a computer about a year ago with Windows xp I got in to the bad habit of just going Click, click and Windows did it all. The result being that I now know NOTHING about computing. This is why I changed over to Mandrake Linux. The idea being that I would start to learn. The problem is that I dont even know how to install a cd which is what I'm trying to do now. I went to Install software but have no idea what to do after that. If anyone out has a minute to spare perhaps you can tell me what to do next.
Jim
Installing software in mandrake falls into two major categories, first are rpm files and the second is source or tar files.

Rpm files are the easiest. Just click and let them run them selves, they are like the exe files you are used to in windows. You can take it up a step and use the command line to install them, in order to do this you need to mix the rpm command with various modifiers and the file name. Something like

CODE
Rpm –Uvh somefile.rpm

The modifiers (letters after the -) will change with each install.