Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Multi Booting With Windows Partitions
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
nuson
I'm having trouble installing linux on my computer. What I want is to be able to preserve windows XP, but I can't seem to do that. When the linux installer partitions my hard drive, I get these errors in windows to the effect that certain lba values don't match (don't know what lba is). How should I partition my hard drive so I can boot into linux (no distro preference) and windows? I would also like to use the XOSL boot loader because it can hide partitions from one another so different os's don't interact (is this really necessary?). I'm pretty new to linux (I'm installing it to learn) so please try to understand. Thanks.

PS: I've since discovered linux boot cd's so I don't really need to have it installed on my hard drive to use it, but it would be nice since it should boot faster and I'll be able to save things in linux.
Jim
I think the best way to install linux and have a dual boot system is if you can dedicate an entire hard drive to linux. Thats my personal favorite way.
If you can't do that, or don't want to buy another hard drive which I understand, what you need to do is free up some space on your windows partition. I am asuming that you have an NTFS partition that takes up the entire drive for windows.

There are a couple options for resizing the NTFS partition wile still keeping the windows files in tack. Norton Ghost I believe will do it, PartitionMagic supposedly will, and Mandrake 9 has an instillation option to "install in windows free space" however, I have never used any of those to resize the NTFS files.