Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Mx Records & Multiple Domain
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
cagey cretin
I am stuck regarding how/whether to use MX records. I have read a lot of info over the last 30 days or so, and even with the Posfix book by Blum, I am confused.

I am trying to set up email for a number of domains on my server (I have FTP & HTTP daemons working great). I can't get a 'yes/no' (and if yes a 'clear how to'): Do I need to have an MX record when using Dynamic DNS? If so, exactly what name do I use for the MX server (they all get different names, right?)? I hope someone can help clear up my confusion.

Thank you in advance

CC
chrisw
yes you need an mx record for your email

people using use mail.domainname.com/net/org
for their email mx record

if not you can run into issues with your mail server not working properly or not receiving mail at all
hughesjr
zoneedit.com (a free service I have been using for more than 3 years) allows for an MX record ... (in case the free service you are using doesn't)

First you need to create an A record for mail.yourdomain.com with your Dynamic DNS host ... then you need to create an MX record for yourdomain.com that points to mail.yourdomain.com
cagey cretin
QUOTE (hughesjr @ Jan 29 2004, 07:06 PM)
zoneedit.com (a free service I have been using for more than 3 years) allows for an MX record ... (in case the free service you are using doesn't)

First you need to create an A record for mail.yourdomain.com with your Dynamic DNS host ... then you need to create an MX record for yourdomain.com that points to mail.yourdomain.com

Thanks HughesJR,

I have the A name setup for each place. Would the following be correct:

CODE
A Name________MX Record
site1.dyndns.org  mail.site1.dyndns.org
site2.dyndns.org  mail.site2.dyndns.org
site3.dyndns.org  mail.site3.dyndns.org
site4.dyndns.org  mail.site4.dyndns.org
site5.dyndns.org  mail.site5.dyndns.org