Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Partitioning Problem
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
SpiroS
I'm having a problem to install red hat 9 on my pc.. I go in the disk druid and i press new to add a partition but when i press ok i get this error:Could not allocate requested partitions: Partitioning failed: Could not allocate partitions as primary partitions ... what should i do?

(I'm a newbie and haven't installed linux before and i didn't add any partitions on my hard disk with other programs like partition magic)
slider12
I don't know the disk druid, but if you have Windows installed, it should be no problem using partition magic...
maybe it's the same with the disk druid, you have to activate the option "primary partition". Usually you can change this option when you select the disc-format (NTFS, FAT, ext2...)
If the partition isn't a primary one, you can't boot any OS from it...
cleroy
I notice your use of "partitions" (plural), how many primary partitions are you attempting to create? I ask because there is a limit to how many you can have. I'm also not familiar with Disk Druid, sorry I can't be of anymore help.

You could do what I did, and reduce the size of your current active partition. Then install your linux on unallocated space and it could take care of it for you.
SpiroS
I can't create any partitions... Because when i press new and then ok so the partition is added i get the error "Could not allocate requested partitions: Partitioning failed: Could not allocate partitions as primary partitions" which doesn't let me add any partitions..
michaelk
Assuming you have windows installed there isn't any more free space to create a partition or you already have 4 primary partitions.

You will have to resize an existing partition to create free space. Be sure to run scandisk and defrag the drive prior to resizing. See Redhat's website for install documentation.
hughesjr
Some questions: