Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Broadband
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
cainbrain
hi all

I need help pls. I have just installed my first linux box :-) My problem is i have broadband through a service provider 'bt'. after phning them they say they dont support broadband on linux:-( only windows........Can anybody help me as to what i must do now in order to get live on the net,i have searched the net but has been no help.

thx
hughesjr
Is this a DSL connection (with or without PPPOE) or is it a Cable connection?

Do you connect to your modem via an ethernet card, USB, or Firewire?

What is the manufacture and model number of your modem?

What distro of linux did you install?
cainbrain
as im new to this ill try and answer
It is a dsl connection, not sure if it is with pppoe or not.
i connect to the internet through a modem through a usb port.
i installed red hat linux 9

it would be a great help if you can help me, coz i am still batteling to set it up. searched the net everywere.
hughesjr
OK,

USB is a little harder ... what is the manufacturer and model number of the modem?
radarak47
G'day

actually having the same problem, I have DSL with pppoe running through a usb port.

the dsl modem is an Alcatel Speedtouch home USB/ethernet modem

I am running Mandrake Linux 9.2

Any help would be great.

radarak47
hughesjr
@ radarak47

The 2.4.22 linux kernel should already have the SpeedTouch module builtin ... so if you boot with it plugged in, the modem should be detected.

If the modem isn't detected, you can build the proper module using this site:

Here is all you should need to get that modem working ... download the Speedbundle tar.gz file and untar it:

tar -xvzf speedbundle-1.0.tar.gz