Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Need Suggestion
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
Petie
Hey all

Well, Im pretty new to linux, but after reading up on some of the superiorities over windows, im willing to give it a shot

Anyway, there are so many types out there, I have not a clue where to start, so I thought I might ask around, see what is best for me.

Basically, i am a web designer and programmer, and I would like to be able to test certain web applications locally. I also want to be able to do the usual office stuff as well (word docs, spreadsheets, etc.) Lets see, email, music, etc. So what should I look to first? Thanks a bunch.
Joey
I would recommend Red Hat 9. It should detect and configure most of your hardware without any problems. You can use it as a workstation or server or both.
Petie
ok thanks

i checked the redhat website (www.redhat.com) and saw that they are going to discontinue support on redhat 9 in a matter of months, I also saw something called Fedora, how is that?
Joey
I've been a fan of redhat for many years now. I have Red Hat 9 on my server (that runs this site) and on my desktop. You can consider Fedora to be Red Hat Linux 10 if you like, however I don't feel that it's really ready for prime time yet. If you're looking to get your feet wet with Linux, I still suggest Red Hat 9. If after a few months you are comfortable with it, you can try Fedora or any other distribution out there but I personally wouldn't jump ship to fedora right now. I had it installed on my system for a few weeks and didn't care for it too much. The installer wasn't as user friendly as RH9's is and I kept on having various problems with the desktop.
Petie
Alright, ill take a look at red hat 9, thanks for you help smile.gif
azepromidi3000
Hey Joel,

He is a question for you which RED HAT IS BEST IN THE YEARS THE RED HAT 8 OR 9 WHAT DO YOU THINK huh.gif
hughesjr