Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Vnc With Suse 9
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
jpsteinmetz
Hey everyone. Alright i'm pretty new to Linux but i'm not totally ignorant. I just installed SuSE 9 to replace Win2k Pro as a server. The thing with this particular machine is... 99% of the time I can't have a keyboard/monitor/mouse hooked up to it... so that means I need a remote administration tool to do the same work. Under Windows I was using RealVNC which was awesome. It did everything I needed it to perfectly. After installing Linux, I installed RealVNC, but I found it very limited, since I was only able to log in to specific user accounts after I had hand-executed the server after having logged in when physically on the machine. Not to mention the only thing I was given access to was a terminal window and an apparently dead desktop. Since this doesn't buy me jack crap, I decided to do more research. I discovered after much reading that I need something to give me access to desktop 0 from X Windows. I managed to find out about a special vnc program that was made to get access to desktop 0, but all links to the website are dead and after searching long for a new website, I came across nothing. After all this, I learned about XFree86-VNC 4 (i think that's correct) which apparently comes bundled with SuSE 9 that offers the sort of features i'm looking for. So I installed this package into the system after removing realVNC. Now my problem is how to set it up and access it. I don't see any menu items, options or anything from anywhere in SuSE' Control Panel and I can't seem to find any executables to do anything. This is of course where you come in. Please help me! I need this machine to be completely controlled from bootup to shutdown from a remote computer. This is way too time consuming for something that should be simple. So, if you can help me on how to set this up it would be absolutely fantastic! Thanks in advance!!

Jean-Philippe
hughesjr