Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Viewing Nfts Files In Linux
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
Skawaii
i'm sure that this question has already been asked and entered, but i still need help with it.

i have 2 hard drives. one has windows xp pro and the other redhart linux 9.0.

i am very new to linux and would like to know how to configure linux so that i can see the files on the NFTS drive. i don't even know where to start, so any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks.
frodo44
NTFS support is still in the 'diamond in the rough' stages as it is. Very rough. In order to be able to view NTFS partitions, you're most likely going to have to recompile your kernel, which can be quite a job... I don't really feel comfortable doing it and I've been using linux for about two years now. But, since you're running redhat, you might be able to download a kernel rpm with ntfs support built into it. But you should know that as for the present, you can only read files on NTFS partitions. There are *very* experimental kernel options out there to write, but it is considered volatile and only suitable for testing (I think... one of the forum admins would be the one's to know a whole lot about this). Anyway, take a look around Redhat's site or a third party rpm distributor to find a ntfs supporting kernel. Hope I helped

Regards,
Eric
hughesjr
RedHat doesn't turn on the ability to read NTFS partitions in it's kernel.

You can recompile your kernel to turn on NTFS read support.

If you update your redhat install (I highly recommend that you do...) you can download the lastest rh9 rpm files you need below. If you don't have the latest kernel (2.4.20-24.9) I recommend you get it via up2date.

The links I provided are for the latest Kernel-Source (right now 2.4.20-24.9). To see if you already have the required rpm's installed to recompile your kernel:

rpm -q gcc gcc-c++ make kernel-source

If the results look like this:

gcc-3.2.2-5
gcc-c++-3.2.2-5
make-3.79.1-17