Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: No Sound
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
matthudd
Hi. I am a total Linux Newbie and have installed SuSe 9 on my gateway box with a 750 mhz Athlon and SoundBlaster PCI 128 sound card. Everything works great except for the sound. I have checked the ALSA web page. My driver seems to be correct. I have changed settings for the sound and everything other thing I can think of. My system dual boots with Windows 2000 and under Windows 2000, the sound comes out through my speakers just fine. Thus, I know the hardware works. I'm not ready to give up on Linux yet but I am at my wits end with this sound thing. Any help or advise would be appreciated.

Thanks
Joey
Hi,

Are there any error messages when you try and use sound? What are you trying to listen to? mp3s? cds? Have you tried it as root to see if theres a permissions problem?
matthudd
There are no error messages when I try to play a .wav or .mp3. There is nothing. When I went home for lunch I checked (Forgive me for not knowing the name) the properties and it said the driver was not active. I opened the Terminal, signed in as root and typed the "modprobe es1371" command and then it gave me a message that said somthing to the effect of I/O or IRQ (?) error and that I should check the system log. It said that the device may be configured wrong. when I get home this afternoon, I'll post the error message. Thanks for responding!
matthudd
OK here it goes. I tried to play an mp3 file with XMMS and the error says:

Couldn't Open Audio

Please check that
1. you have the correct output plugin selected.
2. no other program is blocking the soundcard
3. your soundcard is configured properly

Then I checked the SuSe Plugger. Under the "Driver" tab it says:

Driver Info #0:
Driver Status: es1371 is not active
Driver Activation Cmd: "modprobe es1371"
Driver Info #1:
Driver Info: snd-ens1371

So I go to the Konsole and do the following:

mattandsara@linux:~> su
Password: