Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Nvidia Graphic Card Issues
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
jeezut
Bare w/me, I'm new to linux and am doing my best to learn...

Just got RH 9 installed and I'm having trouble installing the nVidia drivers for my Geforce4 ti4200 card.

I've searched these forums and found some help, but still can't figure it out.

After I downloaded the driver (NVIDIA-Linux-x86-1.0-4496-pkg2.run) I rebooted into console mode by editing etc/inittab. I then proceeded to install the driver. As soon as it starts installing I get this error message:

No precompiled kernel interface was found to match your kernel, do you want the installer to download one from nvidia's ftp site?

It tries to download the kernel interface, doesn't work. It then tries to compile a kernel interace for me, doesn't work. Installation fails. :-(

So I guess I need to compile a kernel interface for nvidia? Can someone help please?

Thanks in advance.
jeezut
I downloaded this file from the nvidia ftp site:

NVIDIA_kernel-1.0-4496.src.rpm

It seems to be what I need. Yes/No?

What do I do w/it?
hughesjr
you need to install (or make sure you have) the following packages:

gcc
kernel-source

You can see if you have the packages installed with this command:

rpm -qa gcc kernel-source

If either are not listed, install via Menu - System Settings - Add/Remove Applications.

Try reinstalling the driver after these are installed.
jeezut
smile.gif
Thanks hugh!

Your advice essentially fixed my problem.
sweet_freak
I have the same problem with Debian. Do I need the same packages? If so how can obtain them for Debian?

Debian 2.4.18
XFree86 4.3
NVIDIA Geforce2
hughesjr
Yes ... you need gcc and the kernel-source as well ...

with debian you can use the command:

apt-get install gcc kernel-source

(make sure you get the kernel souce for 2.4.18).
sweet_freak