Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Lilo Bootloader Help Need To Add Redhat 9
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
mmkay
Allright I have a Master / Slave set up

Mandrake 9.1 On Master

Redhat 9 On Slave

Well redhat isn't on Mandrake's lilo bootloader I REALLY need to add it..

But I don't know how.

If anyone could help me I would be forever thankful.

Thanks! biggrin.gif
Corey
If your bootloader is setup with Mandrake, then, while in mandrake, you should mount your rh9 partition and copy the kernel image over (normally in /boot on the redhat install) to your mandrake boot directory. From there, you can add an additional entry in your bootloader (sorry, you didn't mention what you were running) to load up redhat from your /dev/hdb1 partition.

I could give you more specific instructions if you tell me your partition setup for both disks as well as what bootloader you are running (lilo? grub?).
hughesjr
What duende said will work ... LILO is the default laoder, and it looks like that is what you used...

what you need to do is boot to mandrake, and mount the redhat boot partiton.

You said RedHat was a Slave drive ... but you didn't say if it was primary slave or secondary slave ... primary slave is /dev/hdb and secondary slave is /dev/hdd ... I will assume /dev/hdb (primary slave), use /dev/hdd if you use secondary slave...

When booted up in mandrake and logged in as root, make a directory in the .mnt directory called redhat...(mkdir /mnt/redhat).

Figure out the partitons on the redhat drive and what each is for...fdisk -l /dev/hdb. As a minumum there will be a swap and a root partition. The results will look something like this:

CODE
  Device Boot    Start       End    Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hdb1   *         1        13    104391   83  Linux
/dev/hdb2            14       144   1052257+  82  Linux swap
/dev/hdb3           145      7476  58894290   83  Linux