Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Dvds In Linux
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
amigaboy
OK. I've been battling with trying to get my DVD player to play DVDs in RH 7.2, and need some help.

1) yes, I'm a newbie, didn't see that coming, did you? smile.gif I bought a used laptop (Thinkpad T20) on ebay, wiped WinBlows off it upon receipt, and installed Red Hat 7.2 without incident. Everything works, including the DVD drive, but only for CD-Roms, not playing actual DVDs.

2) I have tried to install 3/4 of the avail. players I can find (Ogle, MPlayer, and Xine) but after the last two hour battle with Xine RPMs, which ended in circular redundancies (after installing RPM after RPM for particular missing libraries, etc. I tended to get errors for missing libraries I *know* I already installed!) but to no avail. I got MPlayer more or less installed successfully but it doesn't work, the other two not even that far.

So, I need some help. Namely:

a) should I ditch RH 7.2 and upgrade to RH 9? Would that have more embedded libraries to help eliminate all the circular redundancies from the RPMs?

cool.gif I saw a note on some other site for newbies that talked about really going for self-compiling in most cases for better success over using RPMs - but I don't see how that is any better, because even if you compile the code, it STILL needs those external libraries if not in your install, and you'd be back to installing/compiling all those anyway....?

c) all the DVD HOWTO sites I see out there are from at least 2-3 years ago, I can't believe they are mostly correct anymore, I'm sure there have been several new versions of RedHat and all the other Linuxes since then.....

d) finally, did InterVideo's 'LinDVD' commercial product ever come out? I only see PR from 2000, nothing since. It appeared they were doing embedded Linux players for consumer electronics makers, but also were going to put out an inexpensive Linux player directly for PC users....