Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Neebie Linux Help!
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
das7282
I was hoping someone here could help me; I'm an almost complete newbie when it comes to Linux and some how I screwed up my installation. I need to know how I can fix it.

Here's the problem. I'm running Suse 8.2 Professional and I was having problems running a game (UT2003) so I went poking around (yes, I was poking ohmy.gif ) in the video card settings. The video card is an nVidia Geforce 3 Ti200 and (supposedly) I had the latest (nVidia 1.0-4496) drivers installed. I noticed that "3D acceleration" wasn't enabled so I clicked the box to enable it. When I clicked "Finish" it gave me an error say the there was a mismatch. I wish I could remember exactly what it said but it said something about 24bit..... 16bit (I was running it in 24bit mode). So I figured 3D acceleration might need to run in 16bit mode so I changed it to 16bit mode. When I clicked "Finalize" it said the changes wouldn't take effect until the GUI was restarted, so I restarted the computer.

That's when the problem started, I have lost the GUI!!! When it starts up, my screen flashes a couple of times and then it goes straight to command line.

I have put way too much time into this installation to lose it. (I have several programs installed, got Folding@Home working on it and I have over 1600 MP3s transfer over to it!) I will try anything to not have to reinstall everything and start over again! Can someone please help?!

PS
Sorry for my newbie ness. tongue.gif

DAS
Corey