Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Mandrake 9.1 And Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128mb
Linuxhelp > Support > Technical Support
phinaliumz
Hi all and thank you for viewing this problem I have.

I am a Linux newbie and I am trying to set my system to work. My system is: Intel Pentium IV 3,06GHz, Asus P4P800 Deluxe, 1gb RAM and Sapphire Radeon 9800 Pro 128mb.

XFree86 4.3.0 will only work when I set driver to vesa. This ofc isn't enough to run games, like Half-Life. There my problems started. System works fine if I do not try to play games. I installed Wine and had it to work, installed Half-Life, but it was so sucky that I just couldn't play it. After RTFM and browsing Net I found out that I need enable DRI support for XFree86. So I went to ATI site when I dl Linux drivers to 9800 Pro.

I did what install-readme told me to do, and install with "rpm --force fglx*.rpm" since it conflicted with libGL.

After that, driverpack needs kernelsources to build up new module for Radeon. I installed sources from Mandrake install CDs, but driver couldn't find them. I don't remember the exact sentence but it was something like: kernel-sources is 2.4.21mdk, while uname-r gives " "

Well, I though that isn't a problem (how wrong I was). I build driver and installed it. I ran XF86Config, and all seemed to be fine. flgrxinfo told that DRI support is now enabled. I rebooted (being former Windoz user it seemed to make sense), but after that I had "Kernel panic, no init found" unsure.gif

I reinstalled Mandrake in order to get function again. Now into my question (sorry for long post): Would you more experienced users tell newbie how to install new module (which needs kernel-sources) in proper way? So it would work? No kernel panic?
I'm bit unsure to install new kernel from www.kernel.org cos I'm afraid I make same mistake again. Installing Mandrake again reminds me Windoz world too much sad.gif

Thank you for your help.
hughesjr